Asthanga Yoga

वन्दे गुरूणां चरणारविन्दे सन्दर्शितस्वात्मसुखावबोधे । निःश्रेयसे जाङ्गलिकायमाने संसारहालाहलमोहशान्त्यै ॥

आबाहुपुरुषाकारं शङ्खचक्रासिधारिणम् । सहस्रशिरसं श्वेतं प्रणमामि पतञ्जलिम् ॥

I bow to the two lotus feet of the gurus, Through which the understanding of the happiness in my own Soul has been revealed.

My ultimate refuge, acting like a snake doctor, For the pacifying of the delusions caused by the poison of cyclic existence.

Who has the form of a human up to the arms, Bearing a conch, a discus and a sword.

White, with a thousand heads, I bow to Patañjali.


Ashtanga Yoga is one of the more popular styles of yoga, and was introduced by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois in 1975.

Ashtanga Yoga, which literally means “eight-limbed yoga”, is a system outlined in the yoga sutras attributed to the ancient sage Patanjali.

The yoga sutras are general guidelines for spiritual growth through right living, and are universal. They are not beliefs, but methods that can be tested by each practitioner to see for himself or herself if they actually have the benefits that they claim.

The sutras consist of eight limbs or requirements to achieve full Self-realization. They are not practiced in order, but are all developed together as one progresses on the spiritual path. Meditation is one such technique that helps a spiritual practitioner to develop in these areas.

The real aim of Ashtanga Yoga is to maintain internal focus throughout the practice. That’s why daily (or regular) practice is highly emphasized in Ashtanga Yoga.

स्वस्ति प्रजाभ्यः परिपालयन्तां न्यायेन मार्गेण महीं महीशाः ।
गोब्राह्मणेभ्यः शुभमस्तु नित्यं लोकाः समस्ताः सुखिनो भवन्तु ॥
ॐ शान्तिः शान्तिः शान्तिः ।

May the rulers of the earth protect the well-being of the people,
With justice, by means of the right path.
May there always be good fortune for cows, Brahmins and all living beings,
May the inhabitants of all the worlds be full of happiness.
Oṃ Peace, Peace, Peace!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.